Marvel Reveals Complete Phase 3 Plans

    Marvel’s Phase 3, which was shrouded in mystery for the longest time, has been revealed. Phase 3 will comprise the following films:

    Captain America: Civil War (release date: 6 May 2016)


    Doctor Strange (4 November 2016)


    Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (5 May 2017)


    Thor: Ragnarok (28 July 2017)


    Black Panther (3 November 2017)

    Black Panther

    Captain Marvel (6 July 2018)


    Inhumans (2 November 2018)


    Avengers: Infinity War (Part I will be released on 4 May 2018 and Part II will be released on 3 May 2019).


    For those ardently following Marvel-related news, some of these announcements aren’t surprising: Doctor Strange had been previously revealed, and fans already got unofficial confirmation from Stan Lee, the former president of Marvel Comics, that the Black Panther was in the works.

    What’s surprising, though, is the announcement of Captain Marvel, a female-led superhero movie. Kevin Feige of Marvel Studios had previously said that a solo female superhero movie could happen in the future but declined to give comment on when it would happen. It is a pleasant surprise, then, to hear about plans for Captain Marvel.

    Here’s the full press release:

    This morning, during a special event at the El Capitan Theatre in Hollywood, Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige revealed the films that will make up Phase 3 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, featuring a mix of fan-favorite characters and several heroes who will be making their big-screen debuts.

    Marvel Studios Fan Event

    The next two films to be released by Marvel are AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON on APRIL 30, 2015, and ANT-MAN on July 16, 2015. Marvel revealed the dates and titles of nine additional films through 2019, including upcoming Captain America, Thor, Avengers and Guardians of the Galaxy installments, along with films featuring Black Panther – who, Feige announced, will be played by Chadwick Boseman – Captain Marvel, Doctor Strange, and the Inhumans.

    The announced films are as follows:

    ·        30 April 2015        AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON
    ·        16 July 2015          ANT-MAN
    ·        5 May 2016            CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR
    ·        3 Nov 2016            DOCTOR STRANGE
    ·        4 May 2017            GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY 2
    ·        27 July 2017          THOR: RAGNAROK
    ·        2 Nov 2017            BLACK PANTHER
    ·        3 May 2018            AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR PART I
    ·        5 July 2018            CAPTAIN MARVEL
    ·        1 Nov 2018            INHUMANS
    ·        2 May 2019            AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR PART II

    Ten films have already been released in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, beginning with 2008’s IRON MAN. All 10 films have collectively grossed over $7.1 billion globally.

    Marvel Studios Fan Event

    Two of these films, MARVEL’S THE AVENGERS and IRON MAN 3, set records as the #1 and #2 biggest box office of all time in Singapore with $13.7 million and $12.7 million respectively. MARVEL’S THE AVENGERS went on to become the third biggest film of all time worldwide, while Marvel’s IRON MAN 3 ranks as the sixth biggest film ever. They are the two highest grossing Super Hero films of all time.

    Earlier this year, Marvel’s CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE WINTER SOLDIER earned $714 million worldwide and is the #5 film of 2014. Most recently, Marvel’s GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY crossed $757 million globally and setting an October debut record in China, where it has now grossed nearly $90 million. It’s the #1 film of the year in the U.S. and the #3 film worldwide.